Life isn't a business to be managed, it's a mystery to be lived!

Tassie, Tas, Tasmania!
Yay I’m finally here!

Plan is to work one week and travel the second. But we all know that plans change!

Flew over to Hobart with Tiger Airways early in the morning

image

I arrived at my hostel which I for once had prebooked! Wow, I know I actually booked something in advance, 2 nights.

image

Arriving on a Sunday was cool. The town is very small and cute. Old school. This Sunday morning when I was walking the streets, all you could here was the street lights when the pedestrian crossings turned green. And then it all went silent again. It was a nice feeling. Felt a little like I flew back in time.

image

I went to the farmers market. Partly to buy some food and partly to talk to farmers about work

image

It was a tiny place where the market was held but when tour started walking around you felt it was bigger as you easy could spend an hour or two quickly. I talked to a few farmers, apples, cherries, potatoes, veggies, grapes well you name it. Tassie is known for apples and cherries. Unfortunately I got there just between season. Cherries just finished and apples will start in the coming 2-3 weeks. I got a few numbers and also a complimentary bag of cherries and the man’s own number to go out for a drink. Well that went quick. I was in Tassie for about 2 hours and I’ve already got a phone number…and cherries..ha!

Every electric box you saw along the streets was always covered with some art. Nicer than the grey ‘naked’ ones you normally see.

image

This man has balls!

image

Battery Point is a historical village. The houses are kept the same way ad back in the days. For me it reminded me a little bit of where my grandparents lived in Sweden.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

This doctor must have found the perfect combination of work and fun

image

As work wasn’t to be found for me I decided I spend my time with the new friends I had found just after the market. I wanted to go to Craddle Mt, highest mountain in Tas. Laura, who I met at my first hostel was interested. So we tried to find a car and leave the following day for 2 nights. We realized that if you rent a car for more than one week you get a better rate. As I was expecting a friend the following week as was going on a roadtrip anyway later. Sooo we postponed the trip so it could be attached with the dates my mate was coming. Meanwhile we stayed in Hobart. Met awesome people as always and part of it because we moved in to the Pickled Frog. One of the best hostels ever!

image

As e were leaving the first hostel I saw this girl who was looking at a Craddle Mt broschure. I told her our plans, we exchanged numbers and she was in! Now there was 3 of us for the first roadtrip.
Now we checked out of Transit Backpackers and a few meters up the road we through in our bags (as did everyone else it looked like) in the luggage room until we could check in.

image

Went down to Salamanca which is the part close to the water and where the pubs, the art stores and the worlds famous Salamanca market is every Saturday. Too bad we arrived on Sunday…

image

There was a fairy shop for kids. Of course I went in there and it was adorable. Too bad my niece couldn’t be there!

image

L and me cooked dinner and we invited Wendy to join us.

image

So we wanted to keep our costs down (as my plan was to woooork a week…bus oh well). These are our pretty adds we made and put up at hostels.

image

Having written these we meet two great girls, Natalie and Lina. Lina had some things to do the following day but Natalie tagged along with us
airport is on the other side of the bridge

image

to the Royal Botanical Gardens!

image

image

image

The Japanese garden was like a fairy tale

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Purse awesome hostel organized free trips to Mt Wellington which is just 20-30min from Hobart. So i went!
They drive you up to the top, 1271m, and then you can walk down.

image

image

image

image

image

image

We found our fourth road tripper! Markus

image

This is a bus stop, yes a real one!

image

On our way back to town we meet Lina and we go for a coffee after that nice shower

image

image

image

image

image

image

This alarm was just above our table. I was confused. Does the alarm go off when you eat too much?

image

It was actually the alarm companies name…saw a car like that later on. But the staff in the cupcake caffee had a laugh 🙂
Thaught of my niece again

image

And then of myself…

image

Back at the hostel with Lina and Natalie

image

Inside the hostel in the reception

image

image

Hobart Hobart Hobart

image

image

The Greeks seemed to have settled everywhere

image

Let’s go to the beach, beach, let’s go get a wave
Seven Mile Beach

image

This is a picture from the first hostel and the 16-bedroom dorm 🙂

image

2 roadtrips coming up!

Leave a Reply

