Life isn't a business to be managed, it's a mystery to be lived!

The plan was to go with G to Lyon but as I wasn’t sure how my stomach would continue from all the cheese I stayed at home to be on the safe side. So I missed Lyon and my stomach was thankfully not worrying me. 

When I was travelling I met G and J, his older brother. J was in France too and I got to meet him too. It is really nice to catch up with people you met travellling. Even if you only grabbed a beer with them 🙂

These guys, G and A, are really nice. They don’t want to through left overs so they put everything out for the birds. I really mean everything!
Bild

I found my firtst lucky clove ever 🙂 Here in a park with the circle of infinity
Bild
Bild

There is this rare bridge close to G’s parents, where he grew up. There are only four in France and I’m lucky (can it be the clove acting up?) to be almost too close 😛 What is this bridge then? Why is so special? Well it is a bridge with a water road for boats to cross the river!! Ha! Isn’t that cool? There is a small path on each side so you can walk across too. And I was lucky again a few days later to see a boat cross. I walked parallell to it. Super cool! 
Bild

The day continues and we pass Digoin which is just next to Molinet where G’s parents live and where G grew up. Digoin is very small and picturesque. I am glad to have the chance to visit the non typical touristic places. We were in the car and I was like stop somewhere I have to take a picture! And he is like: of what? This is where he grew up and you know how it is. You take your surroundings for granted and maybe not see what other people see. Then the architecture in France is very different from Sweden. 
Bild
Bild
Check out this door!
Bild
Bild

In Molinet the brothers helped out their dad with grooming the leaves on the wall on the back of the house.
Bild
Now their dad had a broken foot after skydiving with G. And older brother J had a surgery so they where both using crutches. 
I love the feeling of beeing here. It is a big house with a big family, with their cousin next door and we got to pick some salad to get with us from the 
Bild

Bild

Now G’s old room is still his room and here I found someone else who decided to settle. There was no point trying to kill it so we took the vaccuum cleaner and said bye bye before the would take over the house!
Bild

Took a bicycle ride round Molinet and surroundings. Here I am cycling over the boat bridge.
Bild
And here is some info about the bridge.

Bild

Bild

And then we took a bike ride 🙂 From this lookout, Les Mont St Vincent, you can see Mount Blanc when the weather is clear. Pretty cool!
Bild

So next town I got to visit thanks to G’s work was Mâcon. All the cities and villages are beautiful because they all have a small feeling to them. 

Bild

Rouge de Solutre is a lookout where we went on a hot day. The lookout was surrounded by vinyards. Not too long ago there was a young man who jumped from the top to kill himself. Just something I was told and share. A view from the bottom.

Bild

Some views from the top
Bild

Bild

And this is how the area looks like around here. Small villages and plenty of green. If it’s not vinyards it’s green feelds with white cows 🙂
Bild

We bbq:ed this evening in Ciry le Noble which is the village next to Rozelay where G lives. Part from the mosquitos it was a great evening.
Bild

Visited a buddhist temple and there was a private castle next to it. 
Bild

Why do I love castles? Small, big, old, new (not many new I guess…). Did I hear too many princess fairytales as a child? Don’t know, don’t care why, but I do. And they really have castles here, in my opinion as a castle should be!
Bild

Now the little escargots….eww… Well they are so common you can even find them in a can! This is the cheap stuff.. Nopp haven’t tried and not planning to.
Bild

I once made greek meatballs at G’s home and he loved them so I cooked for his family. His little brother was missing otherwise everyone else was there. Lovely people!
Bild

 

Off to Dijon to visit his friend T and his girlfriend E. Guess what these fields are around there land?? Yupp mustard fields! First time ever seen these. 
Bild

Bild

T+E have a little cat named Jotta, super cute little thing only a few months old.
Bild
We had a nice dinner and they tried to invert me to a cyclist, old school with the typical cap. Pretty?

Bild

And so came my last weekend in France. I stayed with two bicecly freaks and G’s whole family are cyclists. Tour de France is going on for 3 weeks during summer and since it is a huge tradition we went too. This year was the 100th year! You understand that it is in people’s lives. They have seen this forever. The tradition is to pack a picnic and your friends and family and go to the nearest place to first see the PR-cars throwing out freebies, have your picnic and then see all the proffessionals fly by in about 2 minutes maximum! Why not?
Bild

I mean everyone is here! Look at this old lady in a wheelchair! Amazing!
Bild
Bild

One last thing. More cheese. Goat cheese. Now I’m used to not eating the strange part of the cheese, eg the parts that are different from the rest of the piece because it has changed form, colour, moved or sth. But here, some people simply love it, it’s the best part they say. It might not look bad, but when we lifted the lid of this one I almost fainted!
Bild

When I packed my bag I found a big fat spider in the bed! (2nd one I mention but 3rd in a row)

Off to Sweden again!

 

 

Comments on: "France part 2 untill departure 16 July" (1)

  1. Oooh, le country of fromage :-)) cheese and sightseeing, full pott alltså! Miss you mon cherie ami!

Leave a Reply

