Life isn't a business to be managed, it's a mystery to be lived!

Biongiorno – first stop Pompeii 22-26 July

4 weeks of family holidays started with a visit to the small town Pompeii. We stayed in a cute hostel by the name Ottello. Nobody at the hostel knew any English but we managed to speak sometimes with the help of Google translate or simply mix all the words we know from different languages. The one who had the easiest time communicating with the Italians was of course my dad. 🙂 

First lesson in the morning was that caldo is not cold, it is warm. And of course then freddo is cold.

Pozzano is a beach we went to by train. It was a beach with small rocks and situated opposite of Vesuvio.

Bild

Vesuvio we went to with a tour bus and guide. You need to drive through a rough national park to reach the volcano and thus we where on a 4×4 bus. We were definitely in for a bumpy ride. It is interesting to visit a site like this but that’s it. You don’t want to spend a lot of time around here. There is a whole on the top of the mountain. That’s it guys, a big whole. Beeing a little ozzy I was the only one walking around in thongs (flip flops peeps) and so my feet changed color. And if you look carefully at the middle picture I am standing on one “side” of the whole and on the opposite you can see people walking, so you can try to grasp the size of it.

Bild

The road to reach the top was not too bad. The bus took us to the altitude of 1050m and the rest you walk which is about another 20min to reach the top which is about 1280m. From our starting point the walk was more colorful and then it changed to the monotonous tone you saw above.

Bild

The busses we took looked like this by the way:
Bild

Here’s a pic of the whole. 

Bild

 

Positano is our next stop 26-31 July

Positano is a small village on the Amalfi coast where the houses litteraly are on top of each other, just look at the pics below and you will understand what I mean. Having said that it is a very beautiful place and if you want to come to Italy and you are afraid because you will gain a lot of weight well in Positano there are about a zillion stairs so don’t worry you will definetly loose some!

Bild

Beautiful right?

Here is one more
Bild

And around the hill on the left is our hotell and the view from there is below

Bild

 

Bild

 

And here is a little menu from a nice place we ate at

Bild

 

And in another restaurant I had yummie fish!

Bild

31 July – So after the beautiful visit in Positano and the family reunion we took off to Maiori, about 1 hour drive. No I didn’t stay for long, just one night. But here is a quick snap from Maiori.

Bild

 

The next morning we all went to the beach and somewoh I managed to catch a tiny fish in a bucket for the kids to look at. In the afternoon I took off to Salerno to continue on my own. I decided to visit my travel mate from Australia who lives in Brescia, north of Italy. So I took the bus to Salerno and then the bus to Napoli airport and then a flight to Milano.

Bild

1-8 Aug Brescia and surroundings

So here I am in the north of Italy. Wow I say. I immediately notice a difference from what I kept hearing when I was in Australia and met all the Italians who were talking about “two different countries”. It’s not that bad between them it’s just that the Italians are loud and colorful people and they like to be heard. But I promise you there is a difference between north and south, from the few places that I visited. I would say that the north is more European and the south is more Mediterrenean.

We went to a castle in Brescia and since castles are often situated on some hill you have a nice view over the city.

 

Bild

The city has just now opened it’s first metro ever. It is only one line and has no driver. And as you can see not too many people are using it yet.
Bild

This is not only a nice thing to put between to buildings, it also keeps them from falling down on eachother I guess.

We rented city bikes and did the city.

Bild
Bild

Bild

F is a volunteer driver at Croce Bianca and we went by to have a look at the place. There are some old vans that were used back in the days and you can have a look at them. Lucky me one of them was a super cute VW! 🙂

Bild

 

Off to Pinzolo where we stayed one night in his grandmothers home in the mountains. We went by motorbike and it was a lovely ride through the mountains. On our way we stopped and had lunch by Idro Lake.
Pinzolo is a skiresort during winter and is about 800m above sea level. Beautiful place with a river and mountains surrounding you. Just lovely.
Bild
Bild

In the evening we took a ride up the mountains to look at the sunset and it goes even quicker when you are surrounded by the Italian Alps. But oh so beautiful.
Bild

When we were back home we got this lovely view

Bild

Last days we went to a swimming area with some friends, visited the other grandparents home by Lake Garda and I found what I guess is one too many lucky cloves..so instead of being lucky my flight back to Napoli was delayed and I missed all the connections to Maiori.
Bild 

But that was perfectly fine. I simply stayed one night in Napoli and the rest of the family arrived the following day.
I was lucky to have a clean and tidy hotel room which I booked from the airport.
Bild

So the first day I woke up early and had breakfast with the woman from the reception. Afterwards I took of to do the city before the family arrived. 
Naples is crowded like any big city. It is right by the sea which I love about any place 🙂
In the background on the top you can see the castle. There is one more castle in the city centre which was restored and road work was surrounding it so it’s not as pretty of a picture as this one. 
Bild
This is the biggest square in Napoli, Piazza del Plebiscito. 
Bild

I have no idea what this means but I thought it was a funny picture
Bild

And this is one of the markets you can find around the corner(s) everywhere.
Bild

 

I want to say, again, a big big thank you to the best parents ever for this holiday!

Αγαπητοί μου γονείς, σας ευχαριστώ πάρα πολύ για το ταξίδι αυτό! ΜΟΥΑΤΣ!!

Bild

 

Comments on: "Family vaca in Italy – take off 22 July" (2)

  1. ❤❤❤

  2. Naaaaaw 😉

Leave a Reply

